The Association of Finnish Non-fiction Writers awards several writers annually. Most notable award is of 12 000 € (2017) bearing the name of Antero Warelius (1821–1904), regarded as Finland’s first non-fiction writer. Warelius award is granted to a distinguished writer of textbooks or other non-fiction.

The association also participates in the funding and bestowal of the Tieto-Finlandia award and grants annual awards of merit to writers who have distinguished themselves in the field of non-fiction.

Annual awards are:

The association further contributes to the J.A. Hollo award for best non-fiction translation into Finnish.

The awards distributed by the Association of Finnish Non-fiction Writers are funded by copyright fees collected by copyright society Kopiosto.